Home»ASANAS»What is Asana?

What is Asana?

Pinterest Google+

Acc. to Patanjali, asana is the pose which is comfortable and steady. One does not have to exert the body to do the pose. It does not focus on reaching the final position instead says do as much as you can with ease and by focusing more upon the stretches you feel in the body. This means concentrate more on your body and your breath. Hence, it says that asana does not only mean physical exercise also it is a means of going within your body.


“prayatnasaithiliya-anantasamapattibhyam.”(Patanjali Yog Sutra)

Acc. to Hatha Yoga, Asana is the first component which brings physical as well as mental steadiness, health and a feeling of lightness.


Kuryattadasanamsthairyamarogyamcangalaghavam||(Hatha Yog Pradipika)


 Classification of Asana:

Asanas are of 3 types according to Ashtanga Yoga which includes around 84 lakh asanas.:

  1. Meditative Asanas: Asanas required to sit for meditation. Are of 6 types: Sukhasana, ArdhPadmasana, Padmasana, Siddhasana, Swastikasana, Vajrasana.
  2. Cultural Asanas: Meant for reforming the body. All the asanas except Meditative and Relaxative are Cultural Asans.
  3. RelaxativeAsanas: Meant for relaxaing the body. Relaxed Tadasana, Dandasana, Makrasana, Shavasana are the relaxativeasanas.

Acc. to Hatha Yoga, also there are 84 lakh asanas as mentioned by Lord Shiva. Out, of them 84 are regarded as important and among 84, 32 are only good.


Catursitilaksanisivenakathitanica|| (Gheranda Samhita

Previous post

Importance of Hatha Yoga

Next post

What is Stress? And How to manage stress?

No Comment

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *